Browncoats Unite!

Browncoats unite: Support the Independents

Oh wait I all ready do support Windsor, Oakeshott and reluctantly Katter as well as the late Peter Andren.

What a perfect election result. I did not get the local member I voted for but I got the election result I voted for. I couldn’t be happier. I’d prefer a balance of power in both houses every time. We’ve had a BoP in the Senate for a while with Xenophon and Fielding but whereas Fielding was predictable, Xenophon was a bit of a let down. I would still like to see some more competent and intelligent broad based Independents in the Senate.

So often, the government with little or cursory debate rams through legislation, knowing it has the numbers. Government and Opposition backbenchers, and independents, are treated with disdain.

– Peter Andren

It will be interesting to see how the Victorian DLP Senator goes, I’m predicting predictable.

A cross-bench of independents (whose preselection and election is one and the same), holding the balance of power, seems to me the most satisfactory solution to what is currently a representative vacuum.

– Peter Andren

And that is exactly what we have. The outcome democratic process has always intended. The winner is Democracy and effective Representation at long last.

Support the Independents, Democracy always needs and requires a Balance of Power.

You can’t stop the signal!

This entry was posted in Independents. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Browncoats Unite!

  1. Introducing a bit more democracy into parliament itself will be a shock to many of the pollies, but I also think it’s a good thing. It should make them all work a bit harder rather than relying on party discipline.

Leave a Reply

